Blueberry Muffins – Paul Hollywood Style!

Standard

Let’s make it clear: today was never meant to be a low fat day. Lola the labradoodle had an operation yesterday and Ellie and I have been following her around to ensure that she doesn’t munch her stitches or perform acrobatics in the garden! Sadly I became distracted, allowing a block of butter to melt too substantially to save. Shame!

As usual, I hit the internet and came across a Paul Hollywood recipe on the BBC food website. It involved a. butter and b. using my new mixer, so it was a clear winner!

Unfortunately my eggs had been in the fridge (I KNOW, but it was hot yesterday!) so my mixture curdled. This was solved by gently lobbing the flour in.

Then our morning was ruined by discovering that the batter needs AT LEAST an hour in the fridge…preferably HOURS! We got round this issue by baking half of them after an hour and a half, so that we can test if the other half taste better later. It’s science.

My batter was solid. It’s not described in the recipe, so I can only presume this is now it should have looked. The blueberries are pushed into the top before baking. Mine gathered around the side somewhat, so I’ll push towards the middle for the second batch.

Ellie’s favourite yet. I still like the healthy banana and blueberry ones best, but perhaps the second batch will change my mind!

Recipe courtesy of Paul Hollywood. BBC food Website.

Blueberry muffins

These are the best blueberry muffins ever. Leave the mix to rest for as long as your willpower can bear…
Ingredients
110g/4oz plain flour
110g/4oz butter
65g/2½oz caster sugar
2 free-range eggs
1½ tsp baking powder
125g/4½oz blueberries, or equivalent in frozen blueberries
pinch nutmeg
double cream, to serve

Preparation method
Cream the butter and sugar together then slowly add the eggs, mix for three minutes. Add the flour, baking powder, nutmeg, stir to combine, then refrigerate for at least an hour, preferably overnight.

Place a spoonful of muffin mixture into each muffin case, filling each to just over half way. Stud each muffin with about eight blueberries.
Bake in an oven set at 200C/400F/Gas 6 for 20 minutes, or until golden on top. Serve with cream.

>

Leave a comment